So we got word back from the adoption agency "video profile specialist" that we were doing a fine job on the video portion, but they needed more. Apparently I don't have enough footage with kids (big surprise, Mitch is like kiddie candy and me I'm more like. Bologna sandwich) and we need more outdoorsy stuff. Soooo we are taking the video camera to the lake. Since we will be staying at the Pressnell cabin we will get some time with Kinsey and Kaden which will be perfect for the video. We are also going to tape some softball games for Mitch, we taped the Relay for Life and we will do some walking and bike riding as well. Wow we sound so incredibly well-rounded. Hahaha, it all looks good for the camera. Then hopefully after we get that all turned in the process of editing will be a quick one and we will REALLY be finished with the profile part. On another note my cousin had her baby on Monday night. So happy for her (don't get me wrong!) but I do have to admit, having to go through all of the congratulations again can be hard. She is going to be a fantastic Mom and I wish her an incredible amount of joy, but I can't help but be a bit jealous. When will it be our time? I also saw a clip on the news about a trail for a Wichita mom who threw her baby in a dumpster. It makes me want to scream. There are babies born everyday to people like this monster who do not want them and treat them literally ad garbage when there are people like us who want nothing more than to have a child and start a family. What is wrong with people. There are a lot of adoption programs in the area she could have used or children's homes she could have brought the baby to in order to do the right thing. Grrrr. Deep breath. Moving on. The other night while I was at The Relay for Life I was taking a break and catching up on my email I saw one from American Adoptions talking about the end of the adoption tax credit at the end of this year. This really started to worry me. Not that we were expecting this for our adoption options but many people do and the fact that they are thinking about completely doing away with it is crazy. I went onto my FB page and liked the page I was requested to like and decided I would contact my state representative and ask that he co-sponser the "Help Keep Adoption Affordable" Act. If you want more information on how you can help you can follow the link below. Let's help keep deserving couples on the track to becoming the family they always dreamed of! And finally, no news on the adoption front as of now, just patiently waiting. Keeping myself busy so I don't spend too much time in the nursery. But we will continue to keep you updated. Thanks for reading the large uncomfortable ramble ;-),
Ali
Here's that link:
http://adoptiontaxcredit.org/
So how did it go? :) I can't imagine doing a video! I always sound so weird in videos. I am hyperventilating doing a paper profile. Pulling for you guys!
ReplyDelete